Meet the Assistant Staff (pt. 1)

Over the next week or so, we’ll be posting introductions to the larger staff. The assistants, the readers, the social media content writers, the marketing team, the whole lot of us. We can’t wait to for our adventurous and literary year to commence!
posted by Will Walawender
Julia Sternberg
Julia Sternberg-Senior Fiction Reader
What’s something you want to experience in the city while you’re here?
I’m from New York City originally, but I’m always on the lookout for new theater.

What’s the most memorable story, book, essay, or poem you’ve read in the past year?
Euphoria by Lily King
What secret skill do you possess that rarely helps you, if ever?
I can name all 150 original Pokemon.
What’re some good comfort foods for rainy days that come your way?
Mac & cheese, gnocchi with tomato sauce… pretty much any kind of pasta.
Favorite work of art that is not written word?
Chagall’s ceiling paintings at the Opera Garnier in Paris.
What is the most “basic” thing you regularly do or have ever done?
My pumpkin spice addiction.
What celebrity did you have a crush on as a child (or now)?
Batman.
Nathan Moseley-Translation Assistant
Nathan Moseley-Translation Assistant

What’s something you want to experience in the city while you’re here?
Stand-up comedy

What’s the most memorable story, book, essay, or poem you’ve read in the past year?
“Good World” by John Haskell

What secret skill do you possess that rarely helps you, if ever?
Ability to hang upside down on the monkey bars

What’re some good comfort foods for rainy days that come your way?
Miso soup, grilled cheese, that thing with Alfredo sauce and vegetables that my girlfriend makes

Favorite work of art that is not written word?
Vasily Kafanov’s paintings

What is the most “basic” thing you regularly do or have ever done?
Eat my pizza backwards

What celebrity did you have a crush on as a child (or now)?
Larisa Oleynik (aka Alex Mack)

Isabel Anreus- Editorial Assistant
Isabel Anreus- Editorial Assistant

What’s something you want to experience in the city while you’re here?
I’ve been trying to go see the Frida Kahlo: Art, Garden, Life exhibit at the Bronx Botanical Gardens for the past several weeks.

What’s the most memorable story, book, essay, or poem you’ve read in the past year?
“The Beginning of April” by C.K. Williams

What secret skill do you possess that rarely helps you, if ever?
Randomly mixing in Drake rap lyrics into everyday conversation

What’re some good comfort foods for rainy days that come your way?
A giant mug of mint green tea, and a box of Trader Joe’s mini peanut butter cups

Favorite work of art that is not written word?
Manet’s “Bar at the Folies-Bergere”

What is the most “basic” thing you regularly do or have ever done?
I think I bought a pair of pants at Sears once?

What celebrity did you have a crush on as a child (or now)?
Zach Morris

Maryann Aita-Marketing Assistant
Maryann Aita-Marketing Assistant

What’s something you want to experience in the city while you’re here?
I’ve lived in New York City for eight years so I feel like I’ve done most of the things I really wanted to by this point. This summer, I saw the philharmonic play in Central Park and I now have season tickets to the NYC Ballet, which were probably the last two things I had yet to experience that I really wanted to.

What’s the most memorable story, book, essay, or poem you’ve read in the past year?
“Poem about My Rights” by June Jordan

What secret skill do you possess that rarely helps you, if ever?
I can remember a scary amount of details about a person I meet once, even years after the fact. It would seem helpful, but if you happen to remember the birthday of your coworker’s sister’s husband you met at a Christmas party last year, you’re creepy.
I also know the alphabet backwards. Again, this seems helpful, but when was the last time you just had hundreds of articles to alphabetize manually?

What’re some good comfort foods for rainy days that come your way?
Ramen noodles, pad thai, pizza. Anything that can be delivered or made in three minutes.

Favorite work of art that is not written word?
My brother is a painter and my sister is a fiber artist (she makes beautiful, abstract quilts), so I’m always in awe of anything either of them do. The visual art gene passed me over.

What is the most “basic” thing you regularly do or have ever done?
I use ammonia-based cleaners 😉 (Is my science joke totally lost on the creative writing community?)

What celebrity did you have a crush on as a child (or now)?
I was all about Leonardo DiCaprio when I was 9 and he was in his mid-twenties. But I still think it could have worked. I also sort of had a thing for Lumiere (yes, the candlestick – I could see inner beauty even as a kindergartener). He was snarky and I liked it.

Sakshi Shrivastava-Editorial Assistant
Sakshi Shrivastava-Editorial Assistant

What’s something you want to experience in the city while you’re here?
Try every cuisine that’s offered in the city. Every SINGLE one of them!

What’s the most memorable story, book, essay, or poem you’ve read in the past year?
A story called “Crossword” by Hassan Blasim in his book The Corpse Exhibition. I can’t stop thinking about it still!
What secret skill do you possess that rarely helps you, if ever?
I can perfectly swan dive.
What’re some good comfort foods for rainy days that come your way?
Anything with Nutella. And chai.
Favorite work of art that is not written word?
‘Self-Portrait with Thorn Necklace and Hummingbird’ by Frida Kahlo and, of course, Jennifer Lawrence.
What is the most “basic” thing you regularly do or have ever done?
Shop at Forever21. ALL THE TIME.
What celebrity did you have a crush on as a child (or now)?
Jonny Quest was the reason for my *ahem* “awakening”.
